Yes, sugar is gluten free. Gluten is a protein found in wheat and some other grains like barley and rye. Raw sugar is a simple carbohydrate that can be digested without causing any issues for people with coeliac disease or with gluten intolerance.
Related: Best Sugar-Free Syrups
The granulated sugar or sugar cubes that you use are typically produced from either sugar cane or sugar beet plants which are both gluten-free. However, when sugar is added to products like sweet snakes, cakes and pastries those products might have been made from wheat flour, which does contain gluten. Always read each product’s list of ingredients to see if any of those ingredients contain gluten.
Are All Types of Sugar Gluten Free?
All types of raw sugar made from sugar beet and sugar cane sources are gluten free; they are safe for people with gluten sensitivities or celiac disease to consume and not get a gluten reaction.
The exception is for Confectioners’ sugar (also known as powdered sugar or icing sugar) on some occasions.
Confectioners’ sugar is usually gluten-free, but it can sometimes contain gluten when wheat starch is used for anti-caking. It is important to read the ingredients list before enjoying confectioners’ sugar to ensure no gluten is present.
Other types of added sugars like sugar normally do not contain gluten except for barley malt syrup, which does contain gluten.
|Type of Sugar||Description||Gluten-Free?|
|Granulated sugar||Common white sugar, table sugar, or refined sugar used in households and baking||Yes|
|Caster sugar||Finer version of granulated sugar, often used in baking for its ability to dissolve quickly||Yes|
|Confectioners’ sugar||Finely ground sugar mixed with a small amount of cornstarch to prevent clumping||Usually*|
|Brown sugar||Made from sugar cane, contains molasses, giving it a distinct flavor and color||Yes|
|Cane sugar||Extracted from sugar cane, less processed than granulated sugar with a slightly larger crystal||Yes|
|Demerara sugar||Raw cane sugar with large, amber-colored crystals and a slightly toffee-like flavor||Yes|
|Turbinado sugar||Raw sugar with large, light brown crystals, less processed than granulated sugar||Yes|
|Muscovado sugar||Minimally processed sugar with a strong molasses flavor and a moist, sticky texture||Yes|
|Corn syrup||Liquid sweetener derived from cornstarch, often used in processed foods and beverages||Yes|
|High fructose corn syrup||Liquid sweetener derived from cornstarch, sweeter than corn syrup, used in processed foods and beverages||Yes|
|Maple syrup||Natural sweetener derived from the concentration of maple tree sap||Yes|
|Honey||Sweet fluid made by honeybees using the nectar of flowering plants||Yes|
|Molasses||Viscous substance resulting from refining sugarcane or sugar beets into sugar||Yes|
|Agave nectar||Sweetener made from the agave plant, high in fructose and sweeter than honey||Yes|
|Rice syrup||Sweet syrup made from the starch of rice||Yes|
|Barley malt syrup||Sweetener made from sprouted barley, containing around 65% maltose and 30% complex carbohydrate||No|
|Sorghum syrup||Syrup made from the sweet juice of the sorghum plant||Yes|
- Is Powdered Sugar Gluten-Free? https://www.beyondceliac.org/gluten-free-diet/is-it-gluten-free/powdered-sugar/
- Finding GF items with less sugar – https://nationalceliac.org/celiac-disease-questions/how-can-i-find-gluten-free-items-with-less-sugar/